

Northeast Community Council

Agenda November 16, 2017

Held at Muldoon Community Center Youth Development Center at 1005 Ermine Street, Anchorage, AK 99504

- Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance 7:00 pm
- President's Introduction
- Agenda Approval
- Minutes Approval: None this month
- Treasurer's Report
- Executive Board Report
- School Board Reports (limit of 3 minutes):
- Legislative Reports (limit of 3 minutes each):

Senators: Giessel, Wielechowski

Representatives: LeDoux, Pruitt, Spohnholz

Assembly Report (limit of 3 minutes each):

Assembly Members: Demboski, Dunbar, Dyson, Petersen,

• Special Assistant to the Mayor (limit of 3 minutes each):

George Martinez

- Community Concerns/Community Activities Reports: Open to the public (20 min)
- Business: Expected Start: 8:15 pm
 - 1. "Resolution of non-support for the on-site consumption of marijuana": TBD presenting (10 min)
 - 2. Bartlett Resolution to recognize winning the State Football Championship: Ms. Selina Duncan-Metoyer presenting (10 min)
 - 3. Informative Topic on 1. Neighborhood Watch 2. Community Patrols 3. Community Policing 4. Trail Watch in regards to how to be informed on how to handle situations with APD and join these groups: Ms. Robin Nave and Mr. Kevin Smestad presenting (30 min)

Committee Reports: (21 min – 3 minutes each committee)

Alcohol, Bylaws, CIP, Parks, Picnic, Trails, Marijuana, Federation of Community Councils, Community Patrols

• Expected Adjournment – NLT 10:00 pm

Other Important Notes and Announcements:

1. Presentations and subjects are timed. **Brevity is important**.

Please wait to be recognized by the Chair.

2. Please sign in when attending meeting. If possible, choose to

be notified by e-mail. Send an e-mail to

info@communitycouncils.org or kevinsmestad@outlook.com
The NECC has a webpage maintained by the Federation of Community Councils. Minutes for the meetings, agendas, other NECC documents, and NECC contact information are online at http://communitycouncils.org/servlet/content/23.html

4. The NECC has a facebook page with updates and events for the Northeast Community Council area. Go online at https://www.facebook.com/Northeast.Community.Council.Anchorage.AK/

5. NECC is a non-profit organization and receives no funding from the State or Municipality. *Donations from the Community are gratefully accepted.*

President: Rick Irwin, 744-4394, (5/2016-5/2019)

rirwinak@gmail.com

Vice President: Selina Metoyer, 830-0815, (5/2015-5/2018)

selinalily@hotmail.com

Treasurer: Stu Grenier, 337-5127, (5/2074-5/2020)

stugrenier@gmail.com

Secretary: Kevin Smestad, 952-0597, (5/2017-5/2020)

kevinsmestad@outlook.com

Parliamentarian: David Ulmer, 337-7495, (5/2016-5/2019)

deu@acsalaskan.net

Board Members: Kristi Wood, 278-2453, (5/2015-5/2018)

bikemoredriveless@hotmail.com John Ziv, N/A, (5/2015-5/2018)

imz@alaska.net

John Laux, 227-8859, (5/2016-5/2019)

john.laux@gmail.com

Carla McConnell, 301-4416, (5/2017-5/2020)

Pattymac23@rocketmail.com

FCC Delegate: Bob Reupke, snow@alaskalife.net

NECC Standing Committees:

There will be a sign-up sheet at the General NECC Meeting to get involved with a committee or contact the committee chair.

Alcohol Committee

Purpose: Review alcohol license applications, renewals, and related issues including homeless camps, and restricting alcohol sales (red Stripe law). Chair Stu Grenier (stugrenier@gmail.com).

Dave Ulmer John Laux Jean Pollard John Ziv Betsy Chivers

Selina Metoyer Carla McConnell

• Bylaws Committee

Purpose: Develop a suitable set of bylaws for the NECC. Chair Genevieve Holubik (frogstop@gci.net).

Carla McConnell Rick Irwin Selina Metoyer Glenn Clary Lorne Bretz

• C.I.P Committee (Updated 8/2016)

Purpose: Identify and evaluate projects to develop prioritized capital improvement projects lists for the State and for the MOA for the NECC. Projects are available for review and comment at munibudget.org/council/northeast. Chair Kevin Smestad (kevinsmestad@outlook.com).

Glenn Clary Stu Grenier Lisa Vaught Jerrianne Lowther Rick Irwin

Carla McConnell Dave Ulmer Genevieve Holubik Ainslie Phillips

• Parks Committee (Updated 6/2016)

Purpose: To access community park conditions and address concerns of the community related to park assets. Chair Kristi Wood (bikemoredriveless@hotmail.com).

Dave Ulmer Selina Metoyer Stu Grenier Carla McConnell Nickel LaFleur Serena Elftman-Mollenkopf Genevieve Holubik Roger Shaw Jerrianne Lowther Kendra Kloster

• Picnic Committee (Updated 8/2016)

Purpose: To organize and manage the Spirit of Muldoon Picnic which we have every fall. Chair Kevin Smestad (kevinsmestad@outlook.com).

Selina Metoyer Kendra Kloster Jerrianne Lowther Stu Grenier

Trails Committee

Purpose: To Access community trail conditions and develop new trails like the proposed Cheney Lake to Muldoon Town Square Park Trail and the proposed north-south trail along the military-civilian boundary. Chair Dave Ulmer (dulmer@customcpu.com).

Stu Grenier

NECC Adhoc Committees:

• Marijuana Committee (Updated 4/2016)

Purpose: Review marijuana license applications, renewals, and related issues. Chair John Laux (john.laux@gmail.com).

Nickel LaFleur Carla McConnell Dave Ulmer Kevin Smestad Selina Metoyer

• Northeast Community Patrol (Updated 5/2017)

Purpose: To be the eyes and ears on the street and report suspicious activity and criminal activities. Chair Kevin Smestad (kevinsmestad@outlook.com)