# Hillside Community Council Meeting Agenda

February 17, 2021, 7:00pm-9:00pm

Zoom Meeting ID: 997 5141 5199 Passcode: 155083

#### 7:00 Welcome

Call to Order, Membership & Voting • Age & Location Requirements • Membership – Virtual Zoom/Sign-in attendance sheets • Voting Requirement – Must attend one Council Meeting in the preceding 12 months • Establish Quorum • Decorum

- 1. Approval of Agenda
- 2. Updates and Reports from any officials in attendance (5 minutes each)

Legislative Updates

District M – Senator Josh Revak

District N – Senator Roger Holland

District 26 – Representative Laddie Shaw

District 28 – Representative James Kaufman

Anchorage Assembly Reports, District 6

Assembly Member Suzanne LaFrance

Assembly Member John Weddleton

Anchorage School District (ASD) Report

School Board Member Dave Donley

3. Candidate Forum

Welcome - candidates running for Anchorage School Board Seats in April 2021 Municipal Election Explanation of format

Elisa Vakalis

Seat B Judy Norton Eledge Seat F Dan Loring

Kelly Lessens Kim Paulson
Marilyn Stewart Marcus Sanders
Dora Wilson

Seat E Rachel Blakeslee Seat G Carl Jacobs

Edgar Blatchford Sami Graham Pat Higgins Alisha Hilde

Nial Sherwood Williams

- 4. Mayoral Candidates (recurring time slot for any candidate that wishes to address the Hillside Community Council)
- 5. Business Updates

Co-Presidents' Report (Warfield/Vergason)

FCC Delegate Report (Johnson)

Treasurer's Report (Vergason)

HALO Delegate Report (Redlinger)

6. Community Updates & Information

Proposed Zoning Changes to AMC 21.05.010 and 21.05.040

#### 7. Announcements

Hillside CC now has a Facebook page: <a href="https://www.facebook.com/HillsideCommunityCouncil">https://www.facebook.com/HillsideCommunityCouncil</a>
Our website is still official source for information: <a href="https://communitycouncils.org/servlet/content/20.html">https://communitycouncils.org/servlet/content/20.html</a>

8. Open Discussion (Time permitting after presentations, 3 minutes per person) HCC Community member, Dia Matteson

Please note – Our meetings are open to the public and all are welcome to attend. Hillside Community Council Members and those that are eligible for membership within the HCC boundaries have priority to address the Council during this period before non-member guest attendees.

## 9. Adjournment

General inquiries: <a href="mailto:hillsidecommunitycouncil@gmail.com">hillsidecommunitycouncil@gmail.com</a>

### Current Board Members of the Hillside Community Council

Carmela Warfield, Co-President
Bruce Vergason, Co-President & Treasurer
Robert Redlinger, Vice President & Registrar
Todd Brownson, Secretary
Zach Johnson, FCC Rep

carmelajwarfield@gmail.com
bvergason@hotmail.com
bob.redlinger@gmail.com
todd@bigcountryak.com
zhjohnson.ak@gmail.com

The Community Councils of Anchorage comply with Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and is an equal opportunity employer. Reasonable accommodations will be made available to qualified individuals with disabilities upon request. Please contact the Community Councils Center at 907-277-1977 no later than 10 days prior to the meeting date to make any necessary arrangements.