Hello Team Save Nunaka Valley Elementary,

By now you've probably heard our beloved neighborhood school is on a list of 7 schools that ASD intends to close. You may have also heard that two other elementary schools within less than two miles from Nunaka Valley are also on the list (Baxter and Wonder Park). As it turns out, the number of affected students between our three Northeast Anchorage schools makes up 32% of the total number of affected students! It does not seem like a proportionate or equitable approach to ask our tiny corner of Anchorage to absorb one third of what should be city wide cuts!

Below I've listed some helpful resources to learn more about the closure plan, along with a list of ways you can express your questions and concerns to our community leaders. The school board is scheduled to vote on these closures on Dec 17.

I encourage you to consider engaging. We still have the opportunity to shape the outcome!

## **Resources To Learn More**

## Link to ASD Right Sizing website

Link to Nov 4 School Board Work Session (discussion of Right Sizing plan starts at 19 minutes)

ASD will be available in the following Town Halls to answer your questions and respond to your concerns.

- Nov. 12, 6-8 p.m. at Chugiak High School
- Nov. 14, 6-8 p.m. at Dimond High School
- Nov. 16, 12-2 p.m. at Bartlett High School
- Nov. 18, 11 a.m.-1 p.m. by Zoom
- Nov. 18, 6-8 p.m. by Zoom

## **Contact Our Community Leaders**

- Email ASD Superintendent Dr. Jharrett Bryantt: officeofthesuperintendent@asdk12.org
- Email the ASD School board: <a href="mailto:schoolboard@asdk12.org">schoolboard@asdk12.org</a>
- Plan on attending the Dec 17 meeting in person!
  - Sign up ahead of time to ensure you can testify!
  - o To ensure successful testimony please <u>follow these rules</u>
  - o <u>Calendar of School Board Meetings</u>
- Our Area Assembly Members:
  - o George Martinez (george.martinez2@anchorageak.gov)
  - Karen Bronga (<u>karen.bronga@anchorageak.gov</u>)

- o Christopher Constant (christopher.constant@anchorageak.gov)
- Daniel Volland (<u>daniel.volland@anchorageak.gov</u>)
- Our Area AK State Legislature Senators and Representatives:
  - Forrest Dunbar (<u>forrest.dunbar@akleg.gov</u>)
  - Bill Wielechowski (bill.wielechowski@akleg.gov)
  - Genevieve Mina (genevieve.mina@akleg.gov)
  - Stanley Wright (<u>stanley.wright@akleg.gov</u>)
  - Andrew Gray (andrew.gray@akleg.gov)
  - o Donna Mears (donna.mears@akleg.gov)
  - Please let me know if you don't want to continue receiving these emails and I will remove you from the list.
  - o Thanks!
  - o Kristi Wood