Eagle River Valley Community Council Meeting Wednesday, September 13, 2023 6:30 pm REGULAR MEETING

IN PERSON @ Alpenglow Elementary School
Draft Agenda

Introductions and Announcements Approve Minutes: May 10 meeting

Representatives' Reports

Alaska State Legislature - Senator Kelly Merrick Alaska House of Representatives - Representative Jamie Allard Assembly Report – Kevin Cross /Scott Myers School Board Report – Andy Holleman

New Business:

Meeting documents are here: http://www.communitycouncils.org/servlet/viewfolder?id=4549

West Beach Lake Multi-Use Trail Update

Lucy Wittlinger, Park Planner | 907.215.8516

Native Village of Eklutna

Brenda Hewitt, Tribal Administrator, Native Village of Eklutna bhewitt@eklutna.org (907) 688-6020

- Eklutna Community Clinic
- Additional water flow to the Eklutna River to increase salmon runs

Wildfire and Egress Report Update

Jennifer Schmidt, Associate Professor of Natural Resource Management and Policy, 907-786-5497 Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER)

University of Alaska Anchorage

ISER website: https://iseralaska.org/ Work website: https://sites.google.com/alaska.edu/jenschmidt/home

CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) Information

Julie Jessen, Art Skoog

Capital Improvement Plan for the MOA

Survey list: https://www.muni.org/communitycouncilsurveys/homepage/

Mayor's request for updates: https://www.muni.org/communitycouncilsurveys/homepage/media/mayorletters/2023-

mayor-letter.pdf

Lions Club Liquor License Renewal

Three Bears Liquor License Application – Three Bears near Fred Meyer (former Spenard Builders location)

Homelessness Task Force Update

Ken McCarty

ERVCC By-Laws review and revisions

Crystal Kennedy, Julie Jessen

Eagle River Valley Community Council Elections

- Open one-year officer positions: Treasurer (Ruth Armstrong-incumbent)
- Capital Improvements position Mark Littlefield expressed interest in this position.
- Federation of Community Councils Alternate position (open)

2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan

The DRAFT 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan has been released for a 60-day public comment period through October 9, 2023. Please visit https://publicinput.com/2050_mtp to review the plan, related planning documents and an interactive map of recommended projects. Send your comments using one of the following options:

- Leave a comment on the MTP webpage https://publicinput.com/2050_mtp
- Email your comments to: 2050 mtp@PublicInput.com
- Record a voicemail with your comments at 855-925-2801, project coe 5397
- Send your comments by mail to Permit & Development Center, 4700 Elmore Rd, PO Box 196650, Anchorage, AK 99516-6650.

Old Business:

Eagle River Community Patrol - Cliff Cook

Platting: Pete Panarese

Parks and Rec: Ruth Armstrong/Mark Littlefield (Alt)

Federation of Community Councils: Tom Freeman/open (Alt)

Emergency Preparedness: Marvin Cox

Education: Tom Roth

Chugiak/Eagle River Advisory Board: Julie Jessen/Jared Goecker (Alt)

CBERRRSA: Crystal Kennedy/ Arlene Rasic

ERVCC Board Members (Term Expiration) President: Julie Jessen (2024); Vice President: Tom Roth(2024); Treasurer: Ruth Armstrong (2023); Education: Tom Roth(2024); Emergency Preparedness: Marvin Cox(2024); Parks & Rec: Ruth Armstrong(2026)/ Mark Littlefield-Alt (2026); C/ER Advisory Board: Julie Jessen (2023)/: Jared Goecker-Alt (2025); Platting: Pete Panarese (2024); Federation of Community Councils (FCC): Tom Freeman (2023)/open-Alt; CBERRRSA(Road Board): Crystal Kennedy (2025)/Arlene Rasic-Alt (2024); Secretary: Joy Webb (2024)

Next meeting will be held on October 11, 2023, 6:30pm at Alpenglow Elementary School, 19201 Driftwood Bay Dr, Eagle River