

Basher Community Council May 11, 2022 Meeting Minutes Baxter Elementary School

Officers Present: President Don Crafts Secretary Margaret Nelson Treasurer Hilary Morgan

Meeting called meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Don Crafts. The members in attendance are at the end of the minutes.

## **Elections.**

BCC held elections for the first time in seven years. Offices and candidates were as follows:

President: Don Crafts, Jim Wojciechowski Vice-President: Hilary Morgan, Chad Hufford Secretary: Margaret Nelson, Sandi Meirop Treasurer: Jeff Allen, Diane Schenker At-Large: Try Weiss as head of the Community Patrol and Ted Trueblood as head of LRSA.

Each candidate gave a short presentation on why they were seeking to hold office.

Elections were held by secret paper ballot with the results as follows: President: Jim Wojciechowski, one-year term Vice-President: Chad Hufford, two-year term Secretary: Margaret Nelson, one-year term Treasurer: Jeff Allen, two-year term (Note: terms were assigned by President Don Crafts and are out of sync with the by-laws)

Margaret Nelson moved and Chad Hufford seconded that the two at-large members of the executive board be approved unanimously. Vote: members voted unanimously to approve.

At-Large members are: Troy Weiss, one-year term, and Ted Trueblood, two-year term.

Automatically a member of the Executive Board is Don Crafts as Past-President.

## Municipal Assembly Report.

Assemblyman Pete Peterson. Assemblyman Peterson gave a report on the recent assembly activity, including the budget and that the assembly will be looking to override some of the Mayor's vetos. Reported that the Assembly approved the Navigation Center by a vote of 6-4 with Peterson and Assemblyman Forrest Dunbar voting against it. The Nav Center will be located near the Anchorage Police Department off Elmore.

## Limited Road Service Area (LRSA) Report.

Bob Groeneweg gave the LRSA Report. Contractor finished sweeping the winter gravel last Monday and will start sealing and striping next week. So far the LRSA Board has been happy with the new contractor.

## Presentation by Municipality of Anchorage on the upcoming Navigation Center

LaQuita Chmielowski, DOWL Adam Trombley, MOA Director of Office of Community and Economic Development Saxton Shearer, MOA Director of Maintenance & Operations The above individuals made a presentation to the membership about the upcoming Navigation Center. They accepted questions from the members. See attached on the information.

Meeting adjourned 8:55 p.m.

Presented by Margaret Nelson, BCC Secretary

Approved:

DocuSigned by: Jim Wojcichowski \_c3D227FDA1F9425...

9/8/2022 Date:

Jim Wojciechowski, President

Members in attendance:

Penny Rahacek, Susan Allen, Sandra Wagar, Donald Wagar, Chad Hufford, Marko Hrgovic, Mary Moline, Robert Karabelnikof, Sandra Mierop, Stephen Mierop, Joseph White, Rob Merchant, Wayne Jones, Robert Harter, Margaret Nelson, Katherine Karabelnikoff, Bob Groeneweg, Bertha Groneweg, Gary Meacham, Melane Meacham, Troy Weiss, Jessica Thomas, Tim Hansen, Kristen Marchant, Chris Marchant, Jim Wojociehowski, Don Crafts, Anita Soquet, Mark Soquet, Robin Dublin, Joyce Wojociehowski, Hilary Morgan. Diane Schenker, LuAnn Picard, Brad Campbell, Loran Baxter, Duby Baxter, Jo Huskey, Lawrence Huskey, John Kress, Kevin Doughty, Peggy Rotan, Aubrey Chester, Gwen Hufford, Ken Privratsky, Kathy Privratsky, Ann Gabler, Caroline Ahrens, Dave Keddington, Kris Keddington, James (illegible), Eric Ash