Eagle River Valley Community Council Meeting Wednesday, November 9, 2022 6:30 pm REGULAR MEETING

IN PERSON @ Alpenglow Elementary School
Draft Agenda

Introductions and Announcements

Approve Minutes: May 11, 2022, September 14, 2022, and October 12 meetings

Representatives' Reports

Alaska State Legislature - Senator Lora Reinbold Alaska House of Representatives - Representative Kelly Merrick Assembly Report – Jamie Allard/Kevin Cross School Board Report – Carl Jacobs

New Business:

Meeting documents are here: http://www.communitycouncils.org/servlet/viewfolder?id=4549

Expansion of Anchorage Building Safety Service Area to Chugiak/Eagle River

Municipality is considering adding Chugiak-Eagle River to the Building Safety Service Area. If so, this would mandate we use building permits rather than land use permits and be required to have municipal inspectors watch all local building projects. See Meeting documents link above for

- Birchwood CC Resolution
- Chugiak-Eagle River Advisory Board Resolution

Administration's Proposed Amendment to ADU (Accessory Dwelling Unit) Regulations: Title 21.05.070.D.

See Meeting documents link above for

- Rogers Park CC Resolution
- Rabbit Creek CC feedback to Planning & Zoning Commission
- A proposed Substitute Amendment

Chugiak Eagle River Cemetery

Wildfire and Egress Update/Alaska Community Forest Council - Julie Jessen, Art Skoog

The council is a nonprofit organization and advisory body to the Division of Forestry that works to improve Alaskans' quality of life by expanding and caring for urban and community forests. The council promotes the management of trees and forests within communities to maximize the economic, environmental, and social benefits that trees provide.

Eagle River Valley Community Council Elections Board Position (3-year term)

board Fosition (5-year

- Arlene Rasic
- Ruth Armstrong

Officers (1 year term)

- President Julie Jessen (Incumbent)
- Treasurer Ruth Armstrong (Incumbent)
- Secretary Joy Webb (Incumbent)

Committees and Board Representatives

- Federation of Community Councils Tom Freeman (Incumbent)
- Platting Board (1 year term) Pete Panarese (Incumbent)
- CBERRRSA Alternate (3-year term)- Arlene Rasic (Incumbent)

HUD Community Development Block Grant - Mitigation (CDBG-MIT) funds to the State of Alaska

• The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) allocated \$2,288,000 in CDBG— Mitigation funds to the State of Alaska recovering from the 2018 Cook Inlet Earthquake. HUD requires DCCED to coordinate the use of funds with public and private entities affected by the earthquake. A virtual Public Hearing at 4:00 pm on Monday, November 14, 2022, will be held to gather comments, ideas, and other information on how to use the CDBG-MIT grant in the most effective way. Here is the link to the State of Alaska Online Public Notices: https://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/Notices/View.aspx?id=208458

 Here is the link to the State of Alaska CDBG-MIT website: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/dcra/GrantsSection/CDBG-MIT.aspx

JBER Monthly Update

- An early access process is available for the Fort Richardson National Cemetery and Alaska Department of Military & Veterans Affairs' Veterans Day Ceremony on Nov. 11. See Meeting documents link above for details.
- Exercise to be conducted week of Nov. 14. Increased air traffic, emergency vehicle activity, sirens, loudspeaker announcements, alert notifications and longer wait times at the gates may occur.
- Nov. 25th at approx. 8 a.m. the star on the mountain is scheduled to be turned on.
- JBER is hiring for several positions. See https://jberlife.com/jobs/.

Boards and Commissions – Approvals needed by municipality

Old Business:

Eagle River Community Patrol – Cliff Cook CBERRRSA: Crystal Kennedy/ Arlene Rasic

Chugiak/Eagle River Advisory Board: Julie Jessen/Scott Bailey (Alt)

Education: Tom Roth

Federation of Community Councils: Tom Freeman/Erik Gunderson (Alt)

Parks and Rec: Pete Panarese/Ruth Armstrong (Alt)

Platting: Pete Panarese

ERVCC Board Members (Term Expiration) President: Julie Jessen (2022); Vice President: Tom Roth(2023); Treasurer: Ruth Armstrong (2022); Education: Tom Roth(2023); Parks & Rec: Pete Panarese(2023)/Ruth Armstrong-Alt (2024); C/ER Advisory Board: Julie Jessen (2023)/Scott Bailey-Alt (2024); Platting: Pete Panarese (2022); Federation of Community Councils (FCC): Tom Freeman (2023)/Erik Gunderson-Alt (2025); Road Board: Crystal Kennedy (2025)/Arlene Rasic-Alt (2022); Secretary: Joy Webb (2022)

Next meeting December 14, 2022, 6:30pm at Alpenglow Elementary School, 19201 Driftwood Bay Dr, Eagle River