Elections for the Birchwood Community Council officers and board members are held in October.  Officers and board members serve for two years.


For more information about the officers and board, please see the BCC Bylaws.



BCC Officers



Debbie Ossiander

Phone 688-2308

Email  ossiander@hotmail.com

Mail  Birchwood Community Council

P.O. Box 670984

Chugiak, AK  99567-0984


Vice Chair / FCC Delegate/ CBERRRSA Road Board rep/
Birchwood Master Plan update alternate

Matt Cruickshank


Email  MJFC4TH@gmail.com


Secretary / C/ER Parks & Rec

Lexi Hill

Phone  907.689.7621

Email  birchwoodcouncil@gmail.com or lexi.hill@gmail.com


Secretary for Publicity

Gretchen Wehmhoff

Phone  242-6061

Email  Gretchenwehmhoff@gmail.com


Member-At-Large/CERAB rep

Patty Friend 


Email  sambucus7@gmail.com


Treasurer/Brichwood Master Plan update rep/CBERRRSA Road Board alternate

Val Jokela


Email  birchwoodcouncil@gmail.com


Community Patrol

Jeff Hartley

Phone  907.223.7411

Email  jhartley62@hotmail.com





CBERRRSA = Chugiak/Birchwood/Eagle River Rural Road Service Area

Consortium = Consortium of Chugiak-Eagle River Community Councils

C/ER Parks & Rec = Chugiak-Eagle River Parks and Recreation

FCC = Federation of Community Councils

CERAB = Chugiak Eagle River Advisory Board



Community Councils Center


Community Patrols


Chugiak Eagle River Advisory Board


Federation of Community Councils