Abbott Loop February 29th, 2024 AGENDA- ALCC General Membership Meeting 6:30-8:30 pm ****HYBRID MEETING**** • IN PERSON: Trail Side Elementary, 5151 Abbott Rd

- VIA ZOOM: Meeting ID: 844 8192 6062 Passcode: ALCC https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84481926062?pwd=R2dvRXIpMXEyREJ4ZDFsNFY0L0NIZz09
- An ALCC Member is anyone who resides in or has a business in the ALCC district.
- Our meetings/setting is informal and respectful participation is encouraged.
- Meetings are open to the public and everyone is invited and welcome!

Zoom Meeting etiquette:

- These are hybrid meetings, please have patience with us and the technology.
- You must list your name. If you are a member of Abbott Loop Community Council- type ALCC after your name. If you are a guest- type guest and/or your affiliation after your name.
- Please do not use the chat for private or side conversations. Chat can be used to add relevant info such as links or contact info. Or to gently help us "fine tune" our meeting by indicating sound problems, etc.
- To ask a question or make a comment use the raise hand function.
- Prior to speaking each speaker should state their name and if they are a member (Abbott Loop address/area) or guest.

If you would like to receive email notifications from the Federation of Community Councils about ALCC meetings, visit <u>www.communitycouncils.org</u> and click "Sign-Up" (upper right-hand corner of page). This will get you registered for emails and reminders before meetings.

Call to Order

- Round of Introductions
- Changes or additions to agenda
- Approval of minutes from January 25th, 2024: Kathleen Easley
- Treasurer's report: Heather Schrage

Legislative Reports: Q & A

- Senator District F: James Kaufman
- Representative District 11: Julie Coulombe <u>Update Feb2024 JC</u>
- Representative District 12: Calvin Schrage <u>ALCC February 2024 Update</u>

Community Reports and Q & A:

- APD- can request an officer and they will attend if duties permit, not requested for November.
- Assembly member(s)
- School Board member(s)
- <u>Mayor's Office Report</u>
- JBER Community Engagement

Candidate Introductions

Reports

FCC Representative: Lizzie Newell

•

HALO Report: Lizzie Newell

•

Roads & Projects Committee: Mary Miner

- DOWL- MOA Dowling Road Surface Rehabilitation Project- Lake Otis Parkway to Elmore Road.
- Parks & Rec Committee: Mark Miner

•

Planning & Zoning Committee: Mary Miner

Andre Spinelli- <u>Spruce Hollow Subdivision</u>- Information, maps and proposed ALCC Resolution

Cannabis & Alcohol Committee: Yolanda Meza

- 2024/2025 Alcoholic Beverage License Renewal Application
 - Fraternal Order of Eagles #4207 LL# 3439 at 2020 E Dowling Rd #5
 - Brown Jug- Independence Park LL# 1941 at 2101 Abbott Loop Road

Membership & Events: Lizzie Newell

Abbott Loop Community Patrol: Patty Higgins <u>http://www.accpatrols.org/</u>

.

Old Business

•

New Business

• Roger Marks- Discuss/Support for Bond Proposal on the April ballot to improve access to Chugach State Park/ Chugach Access Service Area (CASA).

Announcements/Comments

•

Upcoming Meeting Dates

ALCC monthly meetings are usually the last Thursday of the month but can be subject to changes based on holidays and the ASD school schedule.

- March 28th
- April 25th
- May 30th
- June/July TBA

Adjourn

Resources

- <u>Abbott Loop Community Council Home Page</u>
- ALCC Bylaws https://www.communitycouncils.org/download/19507.pdf
- <u>Abbott Loop Community Facebook</u> search @abbottloopcc
- Whisper Faith Kovach Playground & Fenced Dog Park Facebook Group
- Abbott Loop South and Abbott Loop North on Next Door <u>www.nextdoor.com</u>
- <u>Anchorage Assembly</u>, Email the Anchorage Assembly <u>wwmasmc@anchorageak.gov</u>,
- Anchorage Assembly Newsletter Sign Up <u>HERE</u>
- Anchorage Assembly 101 playlist for those wanting to learn all about Assembly procedures, how to participate, etc. <u>HERE</u>
- Anchorage Mayor's office, or Email the Mayor
- Alaska State Legislature Home Page
 - Email District F Senator James Kaufman at <u>Senator.James.Kaufman@akleg.gov</u>
 - Email District 11 Representative Julie Coulombe at <u>Representative.Julie.Coulombe@akleg.gov</u>
 - Email District 12 Representative Calvin Schrage at <u>Representative.Calvin.Schrage@akleg.gov</u>
- Information about Accessory Dwelling Unit Project
- Information about the Academy Dr/Vanguard Dr. Project <u>http://www.academyandvanguard.com/</u>
- Information for the <u>Dowling/Seward Highway project 2022/2023</u>
- State of Alaska DOT Seward Highway project O'Malley to Dimond can be found here: <u>http://www.sewardhighway.info/</u>
- Information for the Seward Highway & 36th Avenue Interchange Project http://www.36thinterchange.com/
- Anchorage Bowl Land Use Plan Link <u>HERE</u>
- APD safety message emails or text alerts: Rave Mobile Safety, <u>Sign up here</u> or Text the word "Anchorage" to the number 67283.
- JBER Community Engagement Jber.pa@us.af.mil 907-551-8996

The Abbott Loop Community Council generally meets the last Thursday of the month from 6:30pm to 8:30pm at Trailside Elementary. June and July gatherings are generally held outside at one of the ALCC parks.

If you have agenda items, please send your requests to both: Bruce Roberts <u>brucearoberts@hotmail.com</u> 907-952-9969 & Kathleen Easley <u>katmandu26@hotmail.com</u> 907-748-6076.

Dena'inaq ełnen'aq' gheshtnu ch'q'u yeshdu. (Dena'ina)

I live and work on Dena'ina land. (English) ~ Translation by Joel Isaak and Sondra Shaginoff-Stuart

ABBOTT LOOP COMMUNITY COUNCIL 2023-2024

OFFICERS		BOARD OF DIRECTORS			
PRESIDENT	Lizzie Newell	Pat O'Hara	Emily Sullivan	Charles Joy	
VICE-PRESIDENT	Susan Soule	Mark Miner	Yolanda Meza	Patti Higgins	
SECRETARY	Kathleen Easley	Kari Nore	Marilyn Russell	Jon Roder	
TREASURER	Heather Schrage				

STANDING COMMITTEES SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Parks & Rec	Roads & Projects	Planning & Zoning	Cannabis & Alcohol	Membership & Events	Community Patrol	By-Laws Committee
Mark Miner Chair	Mary Miner Chair	Mary Miner Chair	Yolanda Meza Chair	Lizzie Newell Chair	Patti Higgins Lead	Kari Nore Chair
Sheila Cernich	Dan Boland	Akis Gialopsis		Kari Nore	Patti Higgins	Susan Soule
Patti Higgins	Mike Moeglein	Dan Boland		Sheila Cernich	Pat Higgins	Patti Higgins
Susan Soule	Bruce Roberts			Patti Higgins	Thomas Greenman	
					Phil Parks	