

Abbott Loop AGENDA- GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Date: May 18th, 2023

Time: 6:30-8:30 PM

****HYBRID MEETINGS****

- IN PERSON: Abbott Loop Elementary 8427 Lake Otis Parkway
- VIA ZOOM: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84481926062?pwd=R2dvRXIpMXEyREJ4ZDFsNFY0L0NIZz09
 Meeting ID: 844 8192 6062 Passcode: ALCC

Zoom Meeting etiquette:

- The hybrid meetings are new to our council, so have patience with us and the technology.
- You must list your name. If you are a member of Abbott Loop Community Council- type ALCC after your name. If you are a guest- type guest and/or your affiliation after your name.
- Please do not use the chat for private or side conversations. Chat can be used to add relevant info such as links or contact info. Or to gently help us "fine tune" our meeting by indicating sound problems, etc.
- To ask a question or make a comment use the raise hand function.
- Prior to speaking each speaker should state their name, area of Abbott Loop they live in, and if they are a member, or guest.

If you would like to receive email notifications from the Federation of Community Councils about ALCC meetings, visit <u>www.communitycouncils.org</u> and click "Sign-Up" (upper right-hand corner of page). This will get you registered for emails and reminders before meetings.

- An ALCC Member is anyone who resides in or has a business in the ALCC district.
- The setting is informal and participation is encouraged.
- Meetings are open to the public and everyone is invited and welcome!

Call to Order

- Round of Introductions
- Changes or additions to agenda
- Approval of minutes from April 27th, 2023: Kathleen Easley
- Treasurer's report: Heather Schrage- Funds for picnic, pass the hat.

APD Report-Report and Q & A, can request and will attend if duties permit.

Legislative Reports: Q & A

- Senator District F: James Kaufman
- Representative District 11: Julie Coulombe
- Representative District 12: Calvin Schrage

Community Reports and Q & A:

- <u>Assembly member(s)</u>
- <u>School Board member(s)</u>
- <u>Mayor's Office Report</u>
- JBER Community Engagement

Reports

FCC Representative: Bruce Roberts

HALO Report: Lizzie Newell

Roads & Projects Committee: Mary Miner

- ALCC annual CIP list review: Update on list of projects and ALCC prioritization
 - Meetings held to review in early May, final input due by June 15th.
 - Current list: Community Council Survey 2024 Capital Improvement Program (CIP)

Parks & Rec Committee: Mark Miner

Planning & Zoning Committee: Mary Miner

Cannabis & Alcohol Committee: Yolanda Meza

• No renewals this month

Membership & Events: Lizzie Newell

• Sign up Genius link for June 29th picnic - sign up here: <u>https://signup.com/go/oKPPUyQ</u>

Abbott Loop Community Patrol: Dan Rudder, Lead http://www.accpatrols.org/

Old Business

- Update- Solid Waste Services/new Central Transfer Station project-Whitley Laws, DOWL.
- Update- ALCC requested traffic lights and cross walks at Ruth Arcand Park Entrance/Abbott Road intersection and the Elmore/Coventry intersection- Bradly Coy, MOA Traffic engineer.

New Business

Announcements/Comments

SIGN UP HERE to bring something to the June community picnic! Follow us on ALCC Facebook page!

Upcoming Meeting Dates

ALCC monthly meetings are usually the last Thursday of the month. The May meeting is scheduled for the 3rd Thursday because of the school year ending May 23rd.

- June 29th, 2023 Abbott Loop Community Park Picnic at 8101 Elmore Rd, 4-8pm
- July Park gathering TBA

Adjourn

Resources

- <u>Abbott Loop Community Council Home Page</u>
- <u>Abbott Loop Community Facebook</u> search @abbottloopcc
- <u>Whisper Faith Kovach Playground & Fenced Dog Park Facebook Group</u>
- Abbott Loop South and Abbott Loop North on Next Door <u>www.nextdoor.com</u>
- <u>Anchorage Assembly</u>, Email the Anchorage Assembly <u>wwmasmc@anchorageak.gov</u>,
- Anchorage Assembly Newsletter Sign Up HERE
- Anchorage Assembly 101 playlist for those wanting to learn all about Assembly procedures, how to participate, etc. HERE
- Anchorage Mayor's office, or Email the Mayor
- <u>Alaska State Legislature Home Page</u>
 - Email District F Senator James Kaufman at <u>Senator.James.Kaufman@akleg.gov</u>
 - Email District 11 Representative Julie Coulombe at <u>Representative.Julie.Coulombe@akleg.gov</u>
 - Email District 12 Representative Calvin Schrage at <u>Representative.Calvin.Schrage@akleg.gov</u>
- Information about Accessory Dwelling Unit Project
- Information about the Academy Dr/Vanguard Dr. Project <u>http://www.academyandvanguard.com/</u>
- Information for the <u>Dowling/Seward Highway project 2022/2023</u>
- State of Alaska DOT Seward Highway project O'Malley to Dimond can be found here: <u>http://www.sewardhighway.info/</u>
- Information for the Seward Highway & 36th Avenue Interchange Project <u>http://www.36thinterchange.com/</u>
- Anchorage Bowl Land Use Plan Link <u>HERE</u>
- Alaska Redistricting- <u>https://www.akredistrict.org/</u>
- APD safety message emails or text alerts: Rave Mobile Safety, Sign up here or Text the word "Anchorage" to the number 67283.
- JBER Community Engagement Jber.pa@us.af.mil 907-551-8996

The Abbott Loop Community Council generally meets the last Thursday of the month from 6:30pm to 8:30pm at Abbott Loop Elementary. June Community Picnic at the Abbott Loop Community Park and July gathering at Whisper Faith Kovach park. If you have agenda items, please send your requests to both: Bruce Roberts brucearoberts@hotmail.com 907-952-9969 & Kathleen Easley kttps://www.brucearoberts@hotmail.com 907-948-6076.

Dena'inaq elnen'aq' gheshtnu ch'q'u yeshdu. (Dena'ina)

I live and work on Dena'ina land. (English) ~ Translation by Joel Isaak and Sondra Shaginoff-Stuart

ABBOTT LOOP COMMUNITY COUNCIL

OFFICERS		DIRECTORS			
PRESIDENT	Bruce Roberts	Pat O'Hara	Lizzie Newell	Dan Rudder	
VICE-PRESIDENT	Susan Soule	Mark Miner	Yolanda Meza	Emily Sullivan	
SECRETARY	Kathleen Easley	Kari Nore	Patti Higgins	Marilyn Russel	
TREASURER	Heather Schrage				

STANDING COMMITTEES SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Parks & Rec Mark Miner Chair	Roads & Projects Mary Miner Chair	Planning & Zoning Mary Miner Chair	Cannabis & Alcohol Yolanda Meza Chair	Membership & Events Lizzie Newell Chair	Community Patrol Dan Rudder Lead	By-Laws Committee Kari Nore Chair
Sheila Cernich	Dan Boland	Akis Gialopsis		Kari Nore	Patti Higgins	Susan Soule
Patti Higgins	Mike Moeglein	Dan Boland		Sheila Cernich	Pat Higgins	Patti Higgins
Susan Soule	Bruce Roberts			Patti Higgins	Thomas Greenman	
					Phil Parks	