# Abbott Loop



**AGENDA-**GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Date: April 27th, 2023 Time: 6:30-8:30 PM

Location: \*\*\*\* HYBRID MEETINGS\*\*\*\*

**IN PERSON: Abbott Loop Elementary 8427 Lake Otis Parkway** 

**VIA ZOOM:** 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84481926062?pwd=R2dvRXIpMXEyREJ4ZDFsNFY0L0NIZz09

Meeting ID: 844 8192 6062 Passcode: ALCC

# **Zoom Meeting etiquette:**

• The hybrid meetings are new to our council, so have patience with us and the technology.

- You must list your name. If you are a member of Abbott Loop Community Council- type ALCC after your name. If you are a guest- type guest and/or your affiliation after your name.
- Please do not use the chat for private or side conversations. Chat can be used to add relevant info such as links or contact info. Or to gently help us "fine tune" our meeting by indicating sound problems, etc.
- To ask a question or make a comment use the raise hand function.
- Prior to speaking each speaker should state their name, area of Abbott Loop they live in, and if they are a member, or guest.

If you would like to receive email notifications from the Federation of Community Councils about ALCC meetings, visit <a href="https://www.communitycouncils.org">www.communitycouncils.org</a> and click "Sign-Up" (upper right-hand corner of page). This will get you registered for emails and reminders before meetings.

- An ALCC Member is anyone who resides in or has a business in the ALCC district.
- The setting is informal and participation is encouraged.
- Meetings are open to the public and everyone is invited and welcome!

#### **Call to Order**

- Round of Introductions
- Changes or additions to agenda
- Approval of minutes from March 30th, 2023: Kathleen Easley
- Treasurer's report: Heather Schrage

APD Report-Report and Q & A, can request and will attend if duties permit.

#### Legislative Reports: Q & A

- Senator District F: James Kaufman
- Representative District 11: Julie Coulombe- April Update
- Representative District 12: Calvin Schrage- April Update

#### Community Reports and Q & A:

- Assembly member(s)
- School Board member(s)
- Mayor's Office Report
- JBER Community Engagement

#### **Reports**

FCC Representative: Bruce Roberts

**HALO Report:** Lizzie Newell

Roads & Projects Committee: Mary Miner

CIP process

Pedestrian crossings, Abbott to Ruth Arcand Update

Parks & Rec Committee: Mark Miner
Independence Park Dog Park

Hillside Wildfire Awareness Events

o Events posted on Rabbit Creek CC site here

#### Planning & Zoning Committee: Mary Miner

Platting Case S12720 (Long Plat with Subdivision Variance) Public Hearing, information here

#### Cannabis & Alcohol Committee: Yolanda Meza

No renewals this month

### Membership & Events: Lizzie Newell

Sign up Genius link for June picnic - sign up here: <a href="https://signup.com/go/oKPPUvQ">https://signup.com/go/oKPPUvQ</a>

Abbott Loop Community Patrol: Dan Rudder, Lead <a href="http://www.accpatrols.org/">http://www.accpatrols.org/</a>

#### **Old Business**

- ADOT O'Malley to Dimond Seward Hwy project including the 92nd interchange
  - o Speakers: Shannon DOT, Nancy Pease, and John Weddleton

#### **New Business**

# **Announcements/Comments**

# **Upcoming Meeting Dates**

ALCC monthly meetings are usually the last Thursday of the month. The May meeting is scheduled for the 3rd Thursday because of the school year ending May 23rd.

- May 18th, 2023 \*\*3rd Thursday\*\* Last day of school for ASD is May 23rd
- June 29th, 2023 Abbott Loop Community Park Picnic at 8101 Elmore Rd, 4-8pm
- July Park gathering TBA

#### **Adjourn**

#### **Resources**

- Abbott Loop Community Council Home Page
- Abbott Loop Community Facebook search @abbottloopcc
- Whisper Faith Kovach Playground & Fenced Dog Park Facebook Group
- Abbott Loop South and Abbott Loop North on Next Door <u>www.nextdoor.com</u>
- Anchorage Assembly, Email the Anchorage Assembly <u>wwmasmc@anchorageak.gov</u>,
- Anchorage Assembly Newsletter Sign Up HERE
- Anchorage Assembly 101 playlist for those wanting to learn all about Assembly procedures, how to participate, etc. HERE
- Anchorage Mayor's office, or Email the Mayor
- Alaska State Legislature Home Page
  - Email District F Senator James Kaufman at <u>Senator.James.Kaufman@akleg.gov</u>
  - Email District 11 Representative Julie Coulombe at Representative Julie.Coulombe@akleg.gov
  - Email District 12 Representative Calvin Schrage at Representative.Calvin.Schrage@akleg.gov
- <u>Information about Accessory Dwelling Unit Project</u>
- Information about the Academy Dr/Vanguard Dr. Project http://www.academyandvanguard.com/
- Information for the <u>Dowling/Seward Highway project 2022/2023</u>
- State of Alaska DOT Seward Highway project O'Malley to Dimond can be found here: <a href="http://www.sewardhighway.info/">http://www.sewardhighway.info/</a>
- Information for the Seward Highway & 36th Avenue Interchange Project <a href="http://www.36thinterchange.com/">http://www.36thinterchange.com/</a>
- Anchorage Bowl Land Use Plan Link HERE
- Alaska Redistricting- <a href="https://www.akredistrict.org/">https://www.akredistrict.org/</a>
- APD safety message emails or text alerts: Rave Mobile Safety, <u>Sign up here</u> or Text the word "Anchorage" to the number 67283.
- JBER Community Engagement Jber.pa@us.af.mil 907-551-8996

The Abbott Loop Community Council generally meets the last Thursday of the month from 6:30pm to 8:30pm at Abbott Loop Elementary. June Community Picnic at the Abbott Loop Community Park and July gathering at Whisper Faith Kovach park. If you have agenda items, please send your requests to both: Bruce Roberts <a href="mailto:brucearoberts@hotmail.com">brucearoberts@hotmail.com</a> 907-952-9969 & Kathleen Easley <a href="mailto:kathleen">kathleen</a> 6076.

#### Dena'inaq ełnen'aq' gheshtnu ch'q'u yeshdu. (Dena'ina)

I live and work on Dena'ina land. (English) ~ Translation by Joel Isaak and Sondra Shaginoff-Stuart

#### ABBOTT LOOP COMMUNITY COUNCIL

ADDOTT LOOF COMMONITY COONCIL									
OFFICERS		DIRECTORS							
PRESIDENT	Bruce Roberts	Pat O'Hara	Lizzie Newell	Dan Rudder					
VICE-PRESIDENT	Susan Soule	Mark Miner	Yolanda Meza	Emily Sullivan					
SECRETARY	Kathleen Easley	Kari Nore	Patti Higgins	Marilyn Russel					
TREASURER	Heather Schrage								

### STANDING COMMITTEES SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Parks & Rec	Roads & Projects	Planning & Zoning	Cannabis & Alcohol	Membership & Events	Community Patrol	By-Laws Committee
Mark Miner Chair	Mary Miner Chair	Mary Miner Chair	Yolanda Meza Chair	Lizzie Newell Chair	Dan Rudder Lead	Kari Nore Chair
Sheila Cernich	Dan Boland	Akis Gialopsis		Kari Nore	Patti Higgins	Susan Soule
Patti Higgins	Mike Moeglein	Dan Boland		Sheila Cernich	Pat Higgins	Patti Higgins
Susan Soule	Bruce Roberts			Patti Higgins	Thomas Greenman	
					Phil Parks	