Federation of Community Councils, Inc. Board of Delegates

BY ZOOM

DRAFT Minutes of April 21, 2021 meeting

Meeting was called to order at 6:08 p.m. by FCC Chair Daniel George

FCC Delegates in attendance (23):

Abbott Loop Bruce Roberts

Airport Heights Chelsea Ward-Waller

Basher Don Crafts
Bayshore/Klatt Bob Laule

Bear Valley -

Birchwood Matt Cruickshank (FCC Treasurer)
Campbell Park Kevin Fimon (FCC Vice-Chair)

Chugiak Darryl Parks

Downtown -

Eagle River Sharon Gibbons
Eagle River Valley Tom Freeman

Eklutna Valley -Fairview -Girdwood -

Glen Alps Greg Kuijper

Government Hill -

Hillside Zac Johnson Huffman/O'Malley Matt Burkholder

Midtown -

Mountain View Daniel George (FCC Chair)

North Star -

Northeast Bob Reupke
Old Seward/Oceanview Nancy Joseph

Portage Valley -

Rabbit Creek Mike Kenny

Rogers Park -

Russian Jack Kathleen Plunkett

Sand Lake -

Scenic Foothills Daniel Clift
South Addition Jeff Manfull

South Fork -

Spenard Irene Persson-Gamble

Taku Campbell -

Tudor Area Tod Butler
Turnagain Cathy Gleason

Turnagain Arm -

University Area Al Milspaugh

Others in attendance:

Anchorage Assembly Acting Chair Felix Rivera

Anchorage School Board Margo Bellamy
Office of the Governor Kim Kovol
State Senator Roger Holland
Municipal Planner Elizabeth Appleby

Tom Davis

Municipal PM&E Melinda Tsu

Julie Makela Lori Cumming Simon Wigren

Bill Spencer HDR

Community Councils Center Mark Butler
Spenard CC Member Lindsey Hajduk
Sand Lake CC Member Donna Avery

Julie Hasquet Chugach Electric Association

Peggy Welch

ΡJ

Al Milspaugh detailed the Zoom meeting rules. Zoom meeting being recorded.

A. Call to Order and Establish Quorum: Daniel George, FCC Chair Quorum established.

B. Approval of Agenda

Bob Reupke moved to approve. Matt Cruickshank seconded. Approved by unanimous consent.

C. Approval of Minutes

Cathy Gleason moved to approve. Matt Cruickshank seconded. Approved by unanimous consent.

D. Standing Committee Reports:

- 1. FCC Chair Daniel George
- **2. FCC Treasurer** Matt Cruickshank We are on budget at this time.
- **3. FCC Outreach** Al Milspaugh. Organized trainings for running Zoom meetings. Had a list of suggestions for running good Zoom meetings.
- **4. FCC Training** No report.

5. Community Councils Center Manager – Mark Butler Get your CIP priorities in to the Municipality. Susan Klein is retiring. She has been a wonderful asset for the FCC and will be missed. The FCC executive committee asks permission from the delegates to formally interview and hire Jean Sauget to fill the empty slot. Matt Cruickshank moved. Al Milspaugh seconded. Approved by unanimous consent.

- **6. FCC AMATS Committee Representative –** Bob French. No report.
- 7. FCC Homelessness Committee Representative No report.

E. Presentations (5 to 10 minutes each)

1. Office of the Mayor - No report.

2. Felix Rivera – Assembly Chair

Ballots are out in the mail for the runoff in the mayor's race. There are different options for voting. Go to the municipal website Muni.org.

3. Margo Bellamy - Anchorage School Board

On-boarding four new School Board members.

May 10th is graduation week – outside and in-person

Registration for summer school – two sessions.

87% of total Anchorage School District staff has been vaccinated for COVID-19.

Community councils may use school buildings for meetings after June 2021. Must have mitigation plan.

4. Kim Kovol – Office of the Alaska Governor

American Rescue Plan

Hope to de-compress the shelter at the Sullivan Arena.

5. State Senator Roger Holland

F. Presentations:

1. Chugach Electric Association - Julie Hasquet, Senior Manager, Corporate Communications

Chugach Electric is having their first elections since the purchase of Municipal Light and Power. One seat on the board is open. Encourage all members to participate. An email will go out with an elections link. She is willing to present to councils that are from the area that previously had ML&P electrical service.

 Municipal Parking and Site Access – Elizabeth Appleby and Tom Davis, Municipal Planners

Move to extend FCC meeting for 30 minutes.

Matt Cruickshank moves. Darryl Parks seconds. Passes by unanimous consent.

West Anchorage Snow disposal site – Bill Spencer, HDR
 Looking for a new site in West Anchorage, current site is on Airport property.
 There would be a need to provide for an access road to the site. Assembly would then have to approve.

Cathy Gleason, TCC – Use of dedicated parkland? This proposal is not in compliance with six plans, and there would be no mitigation for West Anchorage residents.

G. Old Business:

1.

H. New Business:

1. Nominations for FCC Officer Positions - Nominations are now open for all four FCC officer positions for the next term (July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022). The positions are FCC Chair, FCC Vice-Chair, FCC Treasurer, and FCC Secretary. Nominated today was Daniel George for FCC Chair, Matt Cruickshank for FCC Vice-Chair, and Kevin Fimon for FCC Treasurer. No other nominations were received during the meeting. The nomination process remains open through the May 2021 FCC meeting. Any FCC delegate wishing to be nominated for any of the positions may tell Mark Butler of their interest or state their interest during the May meeting.

I. Council Sharing (brief points) -

Old Seward/Oceanview CC – Sonic Burger being crammed into small lot. South Addition CC – Fundraising for South Addition neighborhood Chugiak CC – Hard rock quarry.

Glen Alps CC – Subdivision development, parking for hikers, maintaining roads for all users.

North East CC – Elections, CIP, Rezone of roller rink property.

Spenard CC – CIP rankings, clean-up, drawings for gift cards from local businesses Campbell Park CC - Spirited meeting, three resolutions, zoning.

Basher CC – Chugach State Park access, CIP

Scenic Foothills CC – Next quarterly meeting will be in person and on Zoom

Eagle River CC – July meeting will be in person, dog parks, proposed marijuana business Rabbit Creek CC – Proposed subdivision

K. Comments by the Public (3 min. each, time permitting) – Donna Avery – Advocacy for homeless.

L. Adjournment:

Al Milspaugh moved for adjournment, Irene Persson-Gamble seconded. Approved unanimously. Meeting adjourned after 8:28 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Mark Butler, Community Councils Center Manager.