NECC

Northeast Community Council

Agenda November 17, 2016

Pattymac23@rocketmail.com

Held at North East Community Council Center Located in the North End of the Muldoon Mall, 1251 Muldoon Road.

- Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance 7:00 pm
- President's Introduction
- Agenda Approval
- Minutes Approval: Minutes from October 20, 2016
- Treasurer's Report
- Executive Board Report
- Legislative Reports (limit of 3 minutes each): Senators: Giessel, Wielechowski Representatives: LeDoux, Pruitt, Spohnholz
- **Representatives Report (limit of 3 minutes each):** Assembly Reports: Demboski, Dunbar, Petersen, Starr
- Special Assistant to the Mayor (limit of 3 minutes each): George Martinez
- Community Concerns/Community Activities Reports (20 min) APD, AFD, Community Patrols, NE Community Center, Federation of Community Councils, Road Construction Updates, MOA Notices, Annual Organizations/Persons visiting NECC
- Business: Expected Start: 8:15 pm
 - 1. AMATS Pedestrian Plan Projects (Boniface/Debarr Connecting Sidewalk along Carrs Mall and another Sidewalk along Patterson Street): Ms. Carrie Connaker presenting. (10 min)
 - 2. UAA A presentation on Disaster Preparedness : Mr. John Brown presenting (15 min)
- Community Reports: (21 min 3 minutes each committee) Alcohol, Bylaws, CIP, Parks, Picnic, Trails, Marijuana
- Expected Adjournment NLT 10:00 pm

Other Important Notes and Announcements: President: Rick Irwin, 744-4394, (5/2016-5/2019) Presentations and subjects are timed. Brevity is important. rirwin@alaskanative.net 1. Please wait to be recognized by the Chair. Vice President: Selina Metoyer, 830-0815, (5/2015-5/2018) Please sign in when attending meeting. If possible, choose to 2. be notified by e-mail. Send an e-mail to selinalily@hotmail.com info@communitycouncils.org or kevinsmestad@outlook.com 3. The NECC has a webpage maintained by the Federation of **Treasurer:** Stu Grenier, 337-5127, (5/2014-5/2017) Community Councils. Minutes for the meetings, agendas, stugrenier@gmail.com other NECC documents, and NECC contact information are online at http://communitycouncils.org/servlet/content/23.html Secretary: Kevin Smestad, 952-0597, (5/2014-5/2017) The NECC has a facebook page with updates and events for kevinsmestad@outlook.com 4. the Northeast Community Council area. Go online at https://www.facebook.com/Northeast.Community.Council.Anc Parliamentarian: David Ulmer, 337-7495, (5/2016-5/2019) horage.AK/ dulmer@customcpu.com NECC is a non-profit organization and receives no funding 5. from the State or Municipality. Donations from the Board Members: Kristi Wood, 278-2453, (5/2015-5/2018) Community are gratefully accepted. bikemoredriveless@hotmail.com John Ziv, N/A, (5/2015-5/2018) jmz@alaska.net John Laux, 227-8859, (5/2016-5/2019) john.laux@gmail.com Carla McConnell, 301-4416, (5/2014-5/2017)

NECC Standing Committees:

There will be a sign-up sheet at the General NECC Meeting to get involved with a committee or contact the committee chair.

Alcohol Committee

Purpose: Review alcohol license applications, renewals, and related issues including homeless camps, and restricting alcohol sales (red Stripe law). Chair Stu Grenier (<u>stugrenier@gmail.com</u>).

Dave Ulmer	John Laux	Jean Pollard	John Ziv
Selina Metoyer	Carla McConnell	Betsy Chivers	

Bylaws Committee

Purpose: Develop a suitable set of bylaws for the NECC. Chair Genevieve Holubik (frogstop@gci.net).

Carla McConnell	Rick Irwin	Selina Metoyer
Glenn Clary	Lorne Bretz	

• C.I.P Committee (Updated 8/2016)

Purpose: Identify and evaluate projects to develop prioritized capital improvement projects lists for the State and for the MOA for the NECC. Projects are available for review and comment at munibudget.org/council/northeast. Chair Kevin Smestad (kevinsmestad@outlook.com).

Glenn Clary	Stu Grenier	Lisa Vaught
Jerrianne Lowther	Rick Irwin	Carla McConnell
Dave Ulmer	Genevieve Holubik	Ainslie Phillips

• Parks Committee (Updated 6/2016)

Purpose: To access community park conditions and address concerns of the community related to park assets. Chair Kristi Wood (bikemoredriveless@hotmail.com).

Dave Ulmer	Selina Metoyer	Stu Grenier	Carla McConnell
Serena Elftman-Mollenkop	f Genevieve Holubik	Roger Shaw	Jerrianne Lowther
Nickel LaFleur	Kendra Kloster		

• Picnic Committee (Updated 8/2016)

Purpose: To organize and manage the Spirit of Muldoon Picnic which we have every fall. Chair Kevin Smestad (kevinsmestad@outlook.com).

Selina Metoyer

Kendra Kloster

Jerrianne Lowther

Stu Grenier

• Trails Committee

Purpose: To Access community trail conditions and develop new trails like the proposed Cheney Lake to Muldoon Town Square Park Trail and the proposed north-south trail along the military-civilian boundary. Chair Dave Ulmer (<u>dulmer@customcpu.com</u>).

Stu Grenier

NECC Adhoc Committees:

• Marijuana Committee (Updated 4/2016)

Purpose: Review marijuana license applications, renewals, and related issues. Chair John Laux (john.laux@gmail.com).

Nickel LaFleur	Carla McConnell
Kevin Smestad	Selina Metoyer

Dave Ulmer