Federation of Community Councils, Inc. Board of Delegates Meeting In-Person at the BP Energy Center and via Zoom

April 17, 2024, Minutes

1. Call to Order and Establish Quorum: Gretchen Stoddard, Chair

Meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m. Quorum attained.

Al Milspaugh read the guidelines for delegates joining via Zoom. Zoom meeting being recorded, including the "Chat". There is no expectation of privacy.

FCC Delegates in attendance (250)

ree belegates in attendance (250)		
Abbott Loop	Lizzie Newell	
Airport Heights	Amanda Moser	
Bayshore/Klatt	Bob Laule	
Campbell Park	Kevin Fimon	
Chugiak	Darryl Parks	
Eagle River	Cliff Cook	
Eagle River	Jamie Lytton (alt.)	
Eagle River Valley	Joy Webb	
Fairview	James Thornton	
Girdwood (GBOS)	Mike Edgington	
Government Hill	Bob French	
Hillside	Carmela Warfield	
Huffman/O'Malley	Gretchen Stoddard (FCC Chair)	
Midtown	Kris Stoehner	
Mountain View	Daniel George	
Northeast	Pamela Raygor	
Old Seward/Oceanview Gary Meaders		
Rabbit Creek	Mike Kenny	
Rogers Park	Linda Chase	
Russian Jack	Kathleen Plunkett	
Sand Lake	Evan Leaf	
Scenic Foothills	Daniel Clift	
South Addition	John Thurber	
Spenard	Irene Persson-Gamble	
Turnagain	Cathy Gleason	
University Area	Al Milspaugh	

Others in attendance:

Office of the Mayor	Trista Espe
---------------------	-------------

Anchorage Assembly Christopher Constant (Chair) Anchorage Assembly Daniel Volland Anchorage Assembly Meg Zaletel Anchorage Assembly Anna Brawley Anchorage Assembly John Lang ASD Margo Bellamy Bear Valley **Clair Steffens** Turnagain Jon & Marnie Isaacs Community Councils Center Arianna Bellizzi, Executive Director Community Councils Center Jean Sauget, Office Assistant

2. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve made by Al Milspaugh, approved by acclimation.

3. Approval of Minutes

No vote.

4. Executive Director Update – Arianna Bellizzi

Ari spoke about the goals she will be working on, including training, website & logo redesign, software upgrade. All are funding dependent. Thank you to Jean; she will be staying on until 5/17. Ari will be hiring a new office administrator.

5. Government Updates

 Office of the Mayor – Trista Espe, Director of Community Engagement APD Captain Bianca Cross has been appointed to succeed retiring Chief Kerle, the first female police chief.
 Now landing route completed at Marrill Field

New landing route completed at Merrill Field.

2025 Community Council Survey is now online and available for councils' input. Municipality issued a 20-day abatement notice at Cuddy Park and completed the abatement process at Davis Park.

Seeking Assembly funding approval for the Sprung Structure shipping to Anchorage.

b. Anchorage Assembly – Christopher Constant, Chair

Discussed the Sprung structure, currently in storage.

Discussed the Municipal run-off election. Sign up on anchoragevotes.com to track your ballot.

Big item before the Assembly is the budget. Still don't have a closed audit for 2022. Assembly is working in a proposal to shift the CIP timeline to the fall to more closely align with the budget process in November.

c. Anchorage School Board (ASD) – Margo Bellamy, President

We are waiting for the Governor's decision on funding. We received a ruling from the Superior Court on a challenge to allotments for charter schools. We plan to other districts to request a stay until June 30 to allow our families to get this school year.

Proposition 1 – Capital Improvements Bond passed and we are looking forward to getting started on the work. The three school board incumbents were re-elected.

- 6. Anchorage Economic Forecast and Sales Tax Initiative Jenna Wright, President, Anchorage Economic Development Corporation.
 <u>Anchorage Economic Report & 2024 Forecast</u> "Choose Anchorage" full report on <u>aedcweb.com</u>.
- HOME Initiative & AO 2023-87(S) Meg Zaletel, Vice Chair, Anchorage Assembly and Assembly Members Anna Brawley and Daniel Volland.
 <u>2024-0417 HOME Initiative Slide Show</u> <u>14.G.3. - AO 2023-87(S)</u>
- 8. Newsletter Policy Resolution No action.

9. FCC Board Nominations

Slate nominated by Linda Chase, seconded by Evan Leaf: President – Amanda Moser Vice President – Daniel George Treasurer – Mike Edgington

Nominated by Linda Chase, seconded by Daniel George: Secretary – Evan Leaf

Nominations remain open until the May 15th meeting.

10. FCC Officer Reports

None.

11. Council Updates

University Area CC – Al Mispaugh.

The outreach at the fair was great – 15 people signed up with the FCC. Thanks to Evan Leaf and Gretchen Stoddard for their help.

12. Public Comment

None.

13. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Al Milspaugh, seconded by Irene Persson-Gamble.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:49 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Jean Sauget.